BUZZ – Coward

English lyrics

I’m sorry, the miserable person that I am
Is loving you insanely
I’m waiting. There is nothing good about me
But I want you, shamelessly

Even if I wander around the world
Even if I search with my eyes opened wider
I know there is no one like you
So I want to be with you

“Please love me
Don’t make me cry”
Those words are more common than breathing
Yet I can’t say them confidently and always hide
I’m a coward

I’m sorry. Because of my foolish lingering feelings
I can’t seem to let you go

Since in my eyes, there’s only you
Since I can’t discern anything else
I want to try to say the words
To invite you into my heart

“Please love me
Don’t make me cry”
Those words are more common than breathing
Yet I can’t say them confidently and always hide
I’m a coward

My growing love sometimes slips out secretly
But even if it cries and whines like a child who lost his way
My damaged heart will probably not realize

“Don’t close your eyes
Please look at me”
I want to whisper these words into your ears
But when I’m facing you, all I do is step backwards
I’m just a coward

I’m only waiting for you

Commentary

Even if I wander around the world
Even if I search with my eyes opened wider
I know there is no one like you
So I want to be with you

“Please love me
Don’t make me cry”
Those words are more common than breathing
Yet I can’t say them confidently and keep hiding
I’m a coward

Because the order of words in a sentence is completely the opposite between Korean and English, I couldn’t do a better job for this translation. But this whole part is actually one sentence that goes :

Even if I wander around the world, even if I search with my eyes opened wider, I know there is only one you, so I want to be with you, but I’m a coward who always hides and can’t even confidently say words that are more common than breathing like “please love me, don’t make me cry”

Same for the second verse…? Pre-chorus? Whatever you call that :

Because you’re stuck in my eyes, because I can’t see anything else, I want to try to say the words to invite you into my heart, but I’m a coward who always hides and can’t even confidently say words that are more common than breathing like “please love me, don’t make me cry”

There’s this part as well :

My growing love sometimes slips out secretly
But even if it cries and whines like a child who lost his way
My damaged heart will probably not realize

Which is actually:

Even if every once in a while my growing love secretly slips out, then cries and whines like a child who lost his way, my damaged heart will probably not realize

In this part, I also had trouble deciding how to translate the “damaged heart” part. It literally says “exploded heart”, and the image is : the love is growing little by little, every once in a while it leaks out (like air out of a balloon or something), so the image continues from here with the “exploded heart”. I don’t think I was very clear in my explanation right now, but I tried my best.

Leave a Reply

