BUZZ – To. Fan

English lyrics

As if I were walking alone on a road I cannot see
There’s only a faint fog obstructing my way forward

Whenever the lonely road I walk became too hard and exhausting
I would look behind and you would be there smiling at me

Even if we say there is no promise in this long journey
I will probably have to walk as fate dictates
Will you stay by my side
Even when I stagger

As if my whole body had been drenched by an early rain shower
You’ve permeated my soul but seem unaware of what sadness is

When I can’t sleep at dawn, I think of you
Because if I become your sadness, I think it will become my pain

Even if I make long pledges to protect you
My old dreams are now stories from the past
But they won’t leave me
Because you’re silently embracing me
I’m still able to dream

From now on we’re not two but one
We will always be together

Even if we say there is no promise in this long journey
I will probably have to walk as fate dictates
Will you stay by my side
Even when I stagger
Please stay with me forever

Notes

Two major difficulties in the translation of this song :

  1. I’m not as fluent in English as I thought I was, so I battled with the second sentence to figure out which tense I should use for each verb. I’m not sure of the result even now. I’ll explain my choices :
    • walk : it’s a road I’m still walking on so I guess present is adequate?
    • became : The times the road became difficult are in the past, so even if I’m still on the road, I guess past tense is correct?
    • would look and would be : I think I’ve heard this form being used with “whenever”, but I really don’t know. Maybe I should have gone with a simple past tense…
  2. The end of the first and third chorus. There is a particle at the end of “me” that literally means “to/towards” (에게로), so the last line would be “to my staggering self”. Now, if I try to link it with the previous line, I could maybe interpret the “에게로” as a “로부터” (I know this is a completely different particle, but…), and it could be the form “protect from”. Then, both lines put together would mean “will you protect me from my staggering self”. But to my knowledge, the verb 지키다 can’t be used with 로부터 and the particle here is not even 로부터 in the first place. So I went with what is in the video.

For the rest, well, as always, Korean grammar and English grammar are very different, so for example, the second verse actually is “You, who have permeated my soul as if my whole body had been drenched by an early rain shower, seem unaware of what sadness is”. So the “but” I used holds absolutely no meaning, it was just so I could put the lyrics approximately in the order they were sung.

Leave a Reply

